top of page
  • buchanancenter

Susan Van Kirk

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

Susan Van Kirk has deep roots in the Midwest. The rich history of the Galesburg-Monmouth area has influenced her sense of place in her Endurance Mysteries, however, she never dreamed of becoming a writer. Instead, her passion was teaching, and she taught on the high school and college level for 44 years. Her first book, The Education of a Teacher (Including Dirty Books and Pointed Looks), was inspired by a college student’s suggestion that she publish one of her teaching stories. Teacher Magazine bought that first story, and Van Kirk decided she enjoyed writing and should pursue it. She wrote her creative nonfiction memoir and added fourteen more stories to her original short story.

After she retired from teaching in 2011, Van Kirk began writing her Endurance Mysteries: Three May Keep a Secret; The Locket: From the Casebook of TJ Sweeney (an e-book novella from Amazon Kindle); Marry in Haste; and Death Takes No Bribes. The mysteries are filled with humor, suspense, mystery, and Midwest history, and a reader can read each by itself or read them chronologically. Van Kirk’s books can be purchased in the BCA Gift Shop.

You can follow Van Kirk on her website:

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page